We ship to Canada, the United States and Europe for a more efficient service!


ProductsSheet Music for GuitarSolo GuitarSonata No. 4

Sonata No. 4

Sonata No. 4

Composer: JOHANSON Bryan

DZ 3354


ISBN: 978-2-89795-271-6

Solo Guitar

28 p.

  • Three formats are available for your purchase.

    Book: The paper version of our editions, which will be shipped through the mail from the nearest distribution center

    PDF: The digital and downloadable version, which is in PDF file format. Thes files are encoded with a header bearing your name, and opening them requires a password.

    PDF Extra: This version allows you to print as many copies as you need for your musical ensembles. Also requires a password to open.


Sonata no. 4 for guitar solo was written in the early summer months of 2017. The choice of using seven movements, while at first glance may seem unusual, is actually within the framework of the extended sonata form. The traditional three-part form is maintained in the following way: the first three movements are played without a break, the fourth movement is in ternary form and the final three movements are played without a break as well. The first three and the final three movements each consist of a single character, while the central fourth movement has a more complex, multi-character nature. In addition to the unusual formal design, I have chosen to employ the seldom used scordatura of tuning the fifth string to Ab. The resulting sonority is strikingly rich. The longer form gave me space to explore the complex nature of this intriguing tuning. The work is dedicated to my brilliant colleague and friend Michael Partington.

Other suggestions