Nous livrons du Canada, des États-Unis et de l'Europe pour mieux vour servir!


ProduitsPartitions pour autres instrumentsUkulélé12 Progressive Lessons from Op. 31

12 Progressive Lessons from Op. 31

12 Progressive Lessons from Op. 31

Compositeur: SOR Fernando

Arrangeur: MUIR Samantha

DZ 3114


ISBN: 978-2-89795-031-6


28 p.


Fernando Sor (1778-1839)

Sor was a Spanish composer and guitarist. His music and virtuosity helped raise the perception of the guitar from an instrument of the tavern to an instrument of the concert hall. Sor left his homeland, Spain, in 1813 (aged 35) and moved to Paris. He then moved to London where he lived from 1815-1823. After a brief trip to Moscow he returned to Paris. As well as being a concert artist, Sor was in great demand as a teacher. His works include both concert masterpieces such as the Introduction and Variations on a Theme by Mozart op. 9, and instructional material including studies, lessons and a guitar method which is still used today. Sor’s studies and lesson are not, however, merely technical exercises. They are beautifully crafted miniature pieces which showcase the harmonic and melodic capabilities of the guitar. 

About the Arrangements

Inevitably, in transferring pieces written for the six string guitar to the four string ukulele, some compromise is necessary. The ukulele’s lack of a bass register means that the lower notes either have to be played an octave higher or omitted. In such instances Sor’s voicing is changed or lost. While this is unfortunate it does not detract from the overall beauty of the pieces. My objective in arranging and adapting these pieces for the ukulele has been to offer ukulele players a chance to enjoy some of the material that has been the foundation of the classical guitar repertoire since the nineteenth century. 

In the majority of pieces the key has been changed to suit the tuning and fingerboard of the ukulele. Although arranged for standard re-entrant tuning (gCEA) these pieces can also be played with low G tuning. Please note: if playing with a low G the tab remains the same but all the 4th string notes will sound an octave lower than written in the notation.

In order to better understand and appreciate the music I recommend listening to the original guitar versions.

Autres suggestions