Nous livrons du Canada, des États-Unis et de l'Europe pour mieux vour servir!


ProduitsPartitions pour guitare3 guitaresThe Path to Truth

The Path to Truth
  • I - Stagnation

  • II - Irrevocably Becoming...

  • III - Direction

The Path to Truth

Compositeur: HEALY Eddie

DZ 2193


ISBN: 978-2-89737-110-4 

3 guitares

24 p. + parties séparées


"Here is yet another new edition from d'OZ, surely one of the most productive guitar publishers on the planet. In the past I have expressed doubt as to the merit of some of their publications, intimating that they seemed to be going for quantity rather than quality. That said, I have to admit that the last, relatively large batch I have received to review which have been published by them are of high quality compositions and this new composition for three guitars by the American guitarist Eddie Healy hasn't broken this latest trend. Composed over a period of three years (2004-6), The Path to Truth has three movements: Stagnation, Irrevocably Becoming and Direction; the composer's explanation of the work, in a nutshell, is that it is all about life's passage and the many emotions and decisions one has to make during that journey. Each section of this piece holds the interest with many changes of character, interesting rhythms and harmonies and some appealing tunes along the way. What strikes one about these three pieces is the clarity of the writing between the three parts; obviously Eddie Healy knows the instrument well enough to make the voices 'work' together in a clear and well­defined manner. This composition would make for an agreeable inclusion in any formal recital; the standard required to do the work full justice is in the Advanced area. The edition comes with full score and separate parts for each player."

Steve Marsh  (Classical Guitar Magazine)


The Path to Truth: A suite for three guitars in three movements (I. Stagnation II. Irrevocably Becoming… III. Direction). Published: 2014. My favourite thing about these works is that they sound fairly clear and suit the instrument well. Eddie Healy is a guitarist himself so the well worked-out texture makes sense. You can listen to samples to get the flavour of the musical language. The level is intermediate in general but a few parts would benefit from an advanced player when the rhythm or position range become tricky. As far as form goes the pieces are pretty straight forward. That is particularly to the benefit of students and hobbyists looking for shorter selections rather than long-winded works. The last movement is significant however, so more advanced players will get more mileage if they play all three movements (as intended). The score quality is great, I really like Les Productions d’OZ print works these days. There is light fingering and position marks. Here are some remarks about the movements via the composer:

The first movement was written to be the part of my story in which the person around whom it revolves is lumbering listlessly through life; completely uninspired by his duties, his role, and his path. There are little sparks of life in the first guitar at times. But, those around him compel him to maintain his course through life regardless of how meaningless it seems…when joined with the first and third movements of The Path to Truth, Irrevocably Becoming… comes to represent something more. It represents the abandonment of the life of monotony and the listlessness it produces heard in Stagnation and the thrill that the possibility of moving in a new “Direction” toward as yet unseen results can inspire. But, that thrill is tempered by anxiety and apprehension; hence some of dissonance heard throughout…The opening of Direction is demonstrative of one’s full commitment to ascertaining the ultimate Truth; the decision to eschew the life one has known and perceives to be false and incomplete, in order to pursue a full and genuine existence. I hoped to capture the sense that one was moving slowly, a bit apprehensively, yet inexorably toward a reality and a Truth that was not yet clear. When the constant rhythmic motion during the introduction breaks that person has finally had a first glimpse of reality. I endeavored to capture their wonder at all the ways reality was distinct from everything they had known thus far. But, as the piece unfolds, the beholder also experiences sorrow, regret, nostalgia, and even horror. Sorrow and regret for all of the time wasted ignorant of Truth, nostalgia for the simplicity of a life bereft of the gravity of that Truth, and horror at just how grave the new reality can often be.

Bradford Werner,

Autres suggestions