Nous livrons du Canada, des États-Unis et de l'Europe pour mieux vour servir!


ProduitsPartitions pour autres instrumentsViolonRiver Winds

River Winds

River Winds

Compositeur: GOSS Stephen

DO 983


ISBN: 978-2-89503-758-3 


20 p. + partie séparée


pour violon et piano

1. Invocation - Arab Spring (for solo violin)
2. Scherzo
3. Pine Winds (Matsu Kaze)

Programme Note

River Winds was commissioned by my friend Henry Sanger as a surprise birthday present for his wife Joyce Berman. The piece reflects Joyce’s passion for the Middle East, 20th century music (particularly Prokofiev, Stravinsky, and Shostakovich), and the scenery that surrounds their home, Matsu Kaze, in the Rocky Mountains. 

The first movement, for violin alone, is a meditation that grows out of the Islamic call to prayer. The Scherzo resonates with the music of Prokofiev, and the finale evokes a serene and muted landscape of mountain pine forests under heavy snow. 


Performance notes

The three movements of River Winds can be performed together, separately, or in any pairing of two of the movements. 

Extended beams are used to show how long notes are held.

Accidentals apply for the duration of the measure (or between dashed measure lines). 

Some courtesy accidentals have been supplied for the sake of clarity.


  • Nom du vidéo
  • Nom du vidéo

Autres suggestions