Nous livrons du Canada, des États-Unis et de l'Europe pour mieux vour servir!


ProduitsPartitions pour guitareGuitare et un autre instrumentThe Book of Songs

The Book of Songs

The Book of Songs

Compositeur: GOSS Stephen

DO 986


ISBN: 978-2-89503-761-3 

Guitare et voix

24 p.

  • Trois formats s’offrent à vous pour vos achats.

    Livre : La version papier de nos éditions, qui vous sera expédiée par la poste à partir du point de distribution le plus près de chez-vous.

    PDF : La version électronique et téléchargeable sous forme de fichier PDF. Ces fichiers sont encodés avec une entête à votre nom et leur ouverture requiert un mot de passe.

    PDF Extra : Cette version vous permet d’imprimer autant de copies que vous en avez besoin pour vos ensembles musicaux. Requiert aussi un mot de passe lors de l’ouverture.


1. She Threw Me a Quince

2. Oh, You with the Blue Collar

3. Plucking the Rushes

4. Pastoral

5. In the Tavern

6. Lament

The Book of Songs was commissioned by Ian Bostridge and Xuefei Yang. The first performance was given by Robin Tritschler and Xuefei Yang at the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse, Shakespeare’s Globe, London, 30th November 2014. The work was toured by Ian Bostridge and Xuefei Yang in the UK, Norway, Germany, Hong Kong, China, and South Korea in October and November 2015.

The Book of Songs is the oldest existing collection of Chinese poetry. The three hundred poems date from the 11th to 7th centuries BC and illustrate many aspects of private and public life – courtship, marriage, lamentation, separation, fighting, feasting, singing, dancing, and drinking. This song cycle draws on poems from the Book of Songs and on other sources of ancient Chinese poetry. The folksong-like opening poem concerns the exchange of gifts in early courtship. In contrast, Oh, You with the Blue Collar is introspective and melancholic – why does the singer’s young lover no longer visit? The third song describes a trip by two lovers to pluck rushes. Somehow they do not manage to pick a single handful all day. Pastoral, for guitar solo, is a contemplation of the countryside in springtime, with soft breeze blowing in the long grass and tall trees. This interlude is taken from the companion piece Illustrations to the Book of Songs (2014) for solo guitar. In the Tavern considers the temptation of drink and Lament evokes the pain of the loss of a loved one. The name “Xuefei” is taken from The Book of Songs.

Autres suggestions