Nous livrons du Canada, des États-Unis et de l'Europe pour mieux vour servir!


ProduitsPartitions pour guitareGuitare seuleSonata



Compositeur: JOHANSON Bryan

DZ 2091


ISBN: 978-2-89737-008-4 

Guitare seule

20 p.


"This large work (18 minutes) is in three linked movements; the first being Meditation and Aria. It begins with a 'Lento Sostenuto' with some arpeggiated chords and runs that make you think you are in for something highly chromatic. Suddenly a second speed intervenes and the music becomes more lyrical. This is only a momentary pause, as the opening speed returns with more of the rushing runs but no return of the chromatic crunching chords we experienced at the beginning. A pause on a D chord brings in a new Andante theme, no doubt the aforementioned Aria, with a beautiful emotional idea that pervades the next few bars. Tempi and time Signatures are constantly changing throughout, however, and the restlessness of the whole movement is obvious throughout. After more toing and froing a new 'Allegretto' idea emerges, which in turn moves back to the opening speeds and themes before an uneasy coda that doesn't know if it is D or Eb minor. Then Part II, the Toccata takes over. This is by far the largest part, and a constant Allegro of considerable proportions. Again times change and you really have to be on your toes as this is by far the hardest section also to play. Hammer-ons and pull-offs are constantly in evidence and there is little let up in its 279 bars and nine pages of small print. The final Part III - Conclusion acts as a recapitulation and coda to the work, using as it does the lyrical themes from Part I and the rushing music form Part If. The final section is Gigue-like and a joyfully exuberant close to what is a major work of considerable length and difficulty. It is never easy, and varies from intermediate to very difficult indeed. Musically it is for the greater part friendly / modern with only the strange opening that, in not returning, doesn't make much of an impact on the piece, being anything approaching atonal. I can see this fine work being highly thought of by lots of players and therefore hope that it attracts the players it no doubt deserves."

Chris Dumigan - Classical Guitar Magazine

Autres suggestions