We ship to Canada, the United States and Europe for a more efficient service!


ProductsSheet Music for GuitarGuitar and other instrumentTrois à propos

Trois à propos

Trois à propos

Composer: BOGDANOVIC Dusan

DO 819


ISBN: 978-2-89503-594-7 

Guitar and viola

8 p. + separated parts
Les Éditions Doberman-Yppan


for viola and guitar

 Having over 50 published compositions behind him and almost half that amount in recordings, not including ones by other musicians, the [Serbian] guitarist/ composer Dusan Bogdanovic is regarded by many as one of the most important new composers to emerge in recent years. This new publication for the relatively rare combination of viola and guitar will not damage that well-deserved reputation in anyway. The opening movement, Tenebrae (darkness). well lives up to its title with a brooding and melancholy, almost “threatening” air to it. The following Humoresque seems a contradiction in terms with the only humourous quality to it being perhaps the quirky rhythms Bogdanovic uses to obtain the desired effect of this piece, the actual character of the movement still retains a slightly cheerless atmosphere. The final movement Feroce is a thrilling work filled with intricate interplay between the two instruments. This is not a long-lasting piece in terms of minutes but what there is, is very satisfying. The work has interest throughout, the often complex and stimulating rhythms Bogdanovic utilises being the main strength of this work. There are not that many composers writing new music for the guitar which is immediately gratifying for performer and public alike, but Bogdanovic has to be placed in that category. This work would ideally be only suitable for the advanced duo.

Steve Marsh (Classical Guitar Magazine)

Other suggestions